His Plate / Her Plate #4 Teriyaki Meatballs with Stir-Fry

It’s been a bit since I have done a his plate / her plate blog post.  I got a little uncreative for a bit and just started making our easy go to meals.  The other day I was in the grocery store and I saw these pineapple teriyaki chicken meatballs in the meat department and I thought that would be a cool thing to base a recipe off of so I grabbed them.

meatballs-teriyakiv2

cookingmb_rt

Seemed healthy enough, plus the only calorie watching that Jake does is watching all the food go into his belly…. not fair right? Well I suppose its not that easy for him, he eats healthy but you know what I mean.

Anyway I figured I could make my own vegan soy-free meatballs and found a recipe online then I changed my mind and went to the salon and did a Brazilian Blowout on my hair instead (this girls gotta have frizz free hair for the summer!) So I did the next best thing, I took a Field Roast sausage, broke it into pieces, tried to roll it into balls (It didn’t really work too well) then I poured some teriyaki sauce over them and sauteed them.  Taste wise it was really good though!

veganrawmb_rtFor the stir fry I just took a ton of frozen veggies and threw them in a pan and cooked them until they weren’t frozen anymore.  Broccoli, snap peas, carrots, onions, corn, you name it it went in there.  Oh and some frozen pineapple chunks!  No oil, no sauce, no salt, no pepper just veggies… way healthier

stirfry_rt

yes even my pans are pink!

Now here is the funniest part of the meal…. I was cooking the brown rice and I figured while I had everything simmering I would set up my light box and my lighting to shoot the food.  I didn’t realize how high I had the flame up for the rice and I burnt my rice while I was setting up to shoot it!  How much of a hipster fail is that!?!?

945564_10200817380852195_295174576_nand yes that went on instagram… of course, to many clichés to name.

Now for the finished product that I slaved over.

His Plate:

meatball_rt

closemeatball_rtHer Plate:

veganmb_rt

closeveganmb_rtNot too shabby I’d say.  Our plates look almost identical and it really wasn’t too much of an extra effort to make both.  Of course it would just be easier if Jake would just be vegetarian, but then he wouldn’t be Jake, and as long as he doesn’t force me to eat meat, I will only force him to eat half of his vegetables lol.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under food, his plate/ her plate

Leave a Reply

