I LOVE my Bike!!!

It happened, Brooklyn has taken me over and I think I am officially a hipster.  Let us count the ways that I have changed since leaving my roots in NJ

  • I work in a salon in Bushwick and worked in Williamsburg
  • I have a scooter
  • I have a “fixie” (almost)
  • I like my hair better when I don’t brush it
  • I am vegetarian
  • I juice
  • When I don’t juice myself I buy juice
  • I love instagram
  • I post food photos on instagram
  • I have an iPhone, iPad, and a MacBook Pro.. and an AppleTV lol

the list goes on and on….

Help me I am a hipster!

But you can’t totally take the Jersey out of me. I still love my animal print lol

But anyway.  This post is about my hipster bike.  I love it already.  Today my friend Julie and I went on a bike ride around Brooklyn.  We biked through Prospect Park and ended up in Cobble Hill for dinner.  It was so much fun and we are going to try to do it more often.  I have to admit, I was nervous that I wasn’t going to use my bike too much, but now I am in love with it and have used it pretty much everyday!

603767_10200750030648482_275492624_n

37057_10200750350856487_790748023_nDidn’t get a photo of Julie during in daylight… woops.

Today I also ran outside for the first time this spring.  I originally planned on going to the gym to run on the treadmill.  In fact I walked all the way there, checked in walked into the locker room and realized I forgot my lock and had to go home and get it.    What a waste, so I changed my mind and went for a run outside.  I ran just under 3 miles.  2.9 to be exact and only because I got to the grocery store and wanted to to buy some food.  I even tried to run past the store to the end of the block and turn around but it still didn’t move me up to 3 miles.  darn.

21106_10200750024688333_443236274_nThe first row was my run and gym walk, and shopping, and doing some calisthenics when I found places to do them.  The second two rows are our bike riding adventures. 1,552 calories for the day!!!

941068_10200750167691908_975989572_nI really love this Moves app!  It’s so cool how it knows what I am doing, and I love the timeline of my day! Everyone should download it.  Plus it covers what my fitbit and my heart rate monitor can’t.  My fitbit doesn’t know anything other than walking, and my heart rate monitor while it can track my running, and calories and my heart rate (obviously) it can only count my calories not my bike mileage.  So maybe it seems like all these apps and gadgets are excessive, but really they all do different things so I like to use them all.  They aren’t necessary but they are fun.

So now my scooter is feeling left out, in fact the bitch got two tickets today while it was parked (don’t worry I can fight them, the cops must have been really bored today) Now you will probably see me around more on my bike, and hopefully this little added extra cardio will be the jumpstart I need to FINALLY get to my 50 pound loss mini goal!  So many April set backs really ruined that goal.  I am also starting back up with my trainer on Friday so that should help too…

Are there any other fun apps that I should have on my phone?

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under daily

4 responses to “I LOVE my Bike!!!

  1. Lynn

    love your shoes that match your tires 🙂

  2. you have the same bike i’m thinking about getting and i’m really glad you wrote about it! i’m trying to get healthy as well, and it all went downhill after i got rid of my old fixed gear so its time to fix that problem!

    • Awesome!! I love it. I have mine set up as a single speed tho I’m not totally ready to pedal all the time hehe.

      • haha 🙂 if you ever feel adventurous, riding fixed gear isn’t as tiring as it sounds. it takes a couple of short rides, or one long one to get used to the fact that if you don’t peddle then you fall over but after that it’s a breeze. i used to do a thing i called lazy legs where if i had been peddling for a long time i’d just let the natural momentum of the bike keep me rolling while i bent my knees kind of outward in a more relaxed way (like sitting on a couch), and then only do like one push to keep me going. it works really well if you going long distances in a city and aren’t in a screaming hurry.
        if you want to try fixed, make sure you have a front brake and not a rear one. that also will save your knees because you can pump the front brake to slow down the front wheel, which will automatically make the cranks slow down, which automatically makes the back wheel slow down 🙂 as an added bonus, riding fixed gives you an amazing butt and legs!

Leave a Reply

