Do I Listen to My Body, or The Machine That Listens to My Body

Last July I bought my Polar FT60 Women’s Heart Rate Monitorand I can honestly say it was one of the best things that I bought.  It did take me a bit to figure it out but once I got the hang of it I think it has been indispensable.  The thing that drives me crazy is that none of the training modes give me much time to run.  I chose the FT60 over any other model because it has the training modes that give you weekly goals to meet and/or beat and it also gives you feedback as well.  482188_10200533573437187_589942959_n

 

Right now I have mine set to increase fitness.  I used to have it set to lose weight but I found that it had me work out at too low of an intensity and it got boring.  Even in the increase fitness setting my goals are 2 hours in zone 1 (117-133) 3.5 hours in zone 2 (134-151) and 1.5 hours in zone 3 (152-171).  When I run I am in zone 3 and when I do the arc trainer or the elliptical at a moderate pace I can stay in zone 2.  But why won’t it let me be in zone 3 more?  My body does not feel exhausted if I run the amount that I am which last week was way more than it wanted me to.  In fact the past few weeks I have felt like I wanted to do more.  So I decided that this week I would….
523998_10200539378862319_1874254390_n

Sporting a pink face in that one… That day I warmed up with .25mi then ran 4.75 miles non-stop and stayed in zone 3 for most of my workout.  It felt awesome, I have lost so much of my endurance since last summer when I was running more.  When I wrote to polar asking how I can get more time in zone 3 in my training they basically told me I couldn’t and in a nice way to get healthier.  Explaining that I should be able to get my heart rate lower while I run.

Yeah yeah yeah, I totally agree with that idea.  However, how can I do that without feeling like I am actually working hard.  I am sure there is a TON of science that goes into these things but I can’t help but to feel a tad bit held back sometimes, but then other times it helps me get out of a weight loss slump.  I don’t want to say that I know all, or that I know more than the engineers that designed this, but I do know my body and it is telling me to run more.543728_10200549252189146_1282615107_nThat was my totals from last week.  My zone 1 is a bit over what it really was because my battery was dying in my sensor I think and I was getting low readings during times when I should have been in zone 2… but oh well, its still about right.  See what it told me though, train less in zone 3.  Of course it did because I ran 3 days in a row.  The bummer was I didn’t get a single star for my feedback, usually I get 3 stars and a trophy.  I was surprised I didn’t get anything considering I did way better working out for 12.5 hours and burning almost 4000 calories!

So what am I going to do?  Run.  suck it Polar… just kidding.  But I am going to ignore the training goals, and just use the heart rate monitor to make sure that I stay within my 3 zones for a couple of weeks and see where it takes me.  I am creeping up to reaching 50 pounds and I would like that to come sooner than later. But I think everyone wants that.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under daily, gym

Leave a Reply

