Confessions of a Shoe Addict… take two

If you have been any where near a loyal reader of my blog you will know that I have a shoe problem.  I just love the damn things.  They pretty much always fit no matter what size you are, and even though the good ones are never comfortable I still wear them anyway.  They can make every plain black outfit I have not so plain black, and well they also look so good on my shelves in my room.  But I honestly have not bought new shoes since probably Christmas… Jeffrey Campbell and Irregular Choice, my go to brands have been underwhelming for me as of late, which I suppose is a good thing.  And I guess I just prefer big chunky boots, over little sandals so right now isn’t my shoe buying season.

I posted this kind of sad post last May about my shoe buying extravaganza.  While I haven’t been bummed about my gym schedule or lack of partying, in fact I have been enjoying it, I have been feeling some shoe buying withdraw.  So I figured I would get some new gym shoes.  I have been spending upwards of 13+ hours at the gym a week so I might as well.  Plus this way I can switch out my shoes more to get a rest and not wear out as fast.

The last time I went to Jack Rabbit they fitted me in the Saucony Powergrid Hurricane 14. They are super comfortable and I love them, they have a slightly lower heel to toe drop than a standard running shoe at 8mm.  This helped me run better and go from a heel runner to a mid-strike runner.

81fgE9F2rrL._SL1500_

tried and true

Maybe I shouldn’t mess with a good thing, but I was interested in trying a few pairs with an even lower heel drop so I ordered a pair with a 4mm drop called the Saucony Kinvara 3which is considered more of a minimalist shoe.

31o8rUEDH6Land then an even lower 0mm heel drop called the Saucony Virratathat I am going to slowly transition to and see how I like it.

81A6uK99pEL._SL1500_

I may have also gotten a boys version because they were on super sale...

I may have also gotten a boys version because they were on super sale though they don’t seem to have the zero drop…

And yes I bought them all in those color ways.  Jake is going to think they are so ugly, I can’t wait to wear them during our workout dates hehe.

So you might be wondering why I am trying these different types of shoes, its because I am actually really enjoying running and I want to get better at it and see what shoe helps me.  I have improved so much from last year and I want to keep going.  I have short legs, so I have a shorter stride and I want to get faster and make my stride more efficient.  I can tell via my fitbit, that it takes me more steps to get somewhere than the average person (I blame that on all my super tight mermaid skirts that I wore during my uber goth stage like Morticia Addams)  so I figure I should try something that might encourage me to widen my stride and make it a little more comfortable.  Plus they are pretty in all their loud neon glory.  I am sticking with Saucony though, they are super comfortable and seem to fit my foot well, a lot of times I have issues with my heel sliding up and down and at least with the hurricanes I don’t.

Do any of you guys use minimalist shoes?  How do you feel about them?  I am kind of excited to try them out.

Leave a comment

Filed under daily

Leave a Reply

