Raw Pasta

I am not usually one for pasta but for some reason the other day I was craving it.  I used to love pasta, until a few years ago when one of my roommates and I were trying to save money to get a new apartment and literally ate pasta for almost a month.  Since then I kind of equate it to being poor. lol.  Not that I was poor but being a freelance artist makes it hard to get a new place in New York City, no one believes in you so we had to have a lot of money in the bank to prove that we could pay for the apartment without consistent paychecks coming in.

Since I wanted pasta but didn’t want the carbs I decided to try to make a raw zucchini pasta.  I ordered this spiralizer on amazon and two days later I was making my own noodles!

484889_10200414608303133_987730281_nI made my raw marinara in my ninja which was super simple. Here are my ingredients

  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes
  • 7 sun dried tomatoes
  • 1/4 of a shallot
  • 1 clove of garlic
  • fresh basil to taste
  • 1/2 tablespoon of olive oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon of raw apple cider vinegar
  • salt and pepper to taste

rawpasta2-rtNow obviously this is a raw dish so you eat it cold.  I know some people won’t totally be into it but if you still want to try, warm up the plates a little first and it will make the whole dish not feel so cold.

rawpasta-rt

 

One thing to note is while yes, you certainly can make this ahead of time and keep it in the fridge you don’t want to combine the two until you are about the serve it.  The salt in the sauce will make the zucchini expel its water and you will be left with a watery mess which won’t be so pretty, or good for that matter.

And the best part about this dish,  look how few calories it is!! This is for way more pasta than is shown in the photos keep in mind, so you can totally splurge and not feel guilty at all!

531692_10200414816148329_1073062467_nI do have to say I am addicted to my new spiralizer, Jake and I just cut up sweet potatoes to make baked curly sweet potato fries, and I also bought huge carrots to try also! Can’t wait!

 

 

 

5 Comments

Filed under food

5 responses to “Raw Pasta

  1. I am so gonna do this…that just looks yummy. And only 177 calories….I can handl that!

    • It’s seriously so good. I did two zucchini and I had three meals out of it so I think that is even a high estimate. Let me know how you like it! Also if you don’t have a spiralizer use a veggie peeler they will be more like flat wide noodles

  2. Lynn

    now I know what mi-mom was talking about. I want one for sweet potato fries…yummmmmmmmm 🙂

  3. Totally ordered one off amazon. Too bad you can’t get commission on the sale! So excited. Would love to compare recipes.

    • Did you click it from my link? 😉

      We definitely should! I always love new recipes! I do have to say the sweet potatoes came out a little too thin we will have to experiment more.

Leave a Reply

