His Plate/ Her Plate #2 -Buffalo Chicken/ Buffalo Cauliflower

Today was a pretty successful dinner.  I decided on making a better version of buffalo wings.  It might not have been the healthiest of all dinners, but compared to the actual version it was pretty healthy.  Nothing was fried and my “wing” was actually cauliflower and Jake’s was bone-less skin-less chicken breast tenders.  We baked both instead of frying and even though we did batter them, it was a very light batter and I used  watered down cashew milk (home made) as the liquid.  I based my recipe of the cauliflower off a P.E.T.A recipe but I modified the batter a bit, I used a bit more water so that it didn’t coat too thick on the cauliflower, and I also added hot sauce hehe.


The batter and my homemade cashew milk


lightly battered and ready for the oven

all crispy

all crispy

Kale sautéed with garlic and olive oil

Kale sautéed with garlic and olive oil



cauliflower2For Jake, I didn’t really do a step by step, his wasn’t as pretty.  I mean who wants to look at raw slimy chicken?  No one.  We tried to put his chicken in my batter before we baked his and I wouldn’t totally say that it was a fail, but it wasn’t perfect either.  I think if we do this again we are just going to season the chicken with salt and pepper and bake with without the batter.

chicken1I can’t get Jake to eat kale so in order to get a green on his plate I had to make him peas, one day I will get him to appreciate his green vegetables more hehe.

Jake also asked for a dessert, which he doesn’t do too often.  I could not think of anything so I started looking up raw recipes.  That turned into just looking up “no-bake” which landed me to this recipe.  I am not good at listening to directions so I changed this a lot.  I used less rice crispies, less cherries, and added coconut shreds.  I also omitted the white chocolate and vanilla, used less chocolate, and added a bunch of peanut butter.  Does it still count as that recipe lol?


ricecrispy2Now you might notice that that recipe made little cookie like balls, well I guess since I changed so much up mine wouldn’t stick together like that, so I went for the next best thing, a heart shaped bowl.  I pressed it in the bowl and put it in the fridge and out came a huge heart rice crispy treat!

who couldn't love that?

who couldn’t love that?

a perfect dessert to eat while we watch the Walking Dead

a perfect dessert to eat while we watch the Walking Dead

I’d say it was a pretty awesome dinner.   I am now obsessed with the cauliflower idea, and now I am going to use it for other things, like maybe have a barbecue “chicken” night!


Filed under his plate/ her plate, Uncategorized

2 responses to “His Plate/ Her Plate #2 -Buffalo Chicken/ Buffalo Cauliflower

  1. You could try juicing to get the greens in there.

Leave a Reply

