Cha-Cha-Cha-Chia!

I know many people recognize that little jingle in my title.  Many people know Chia seeds as this little planter that probably a lot of us got for christmas at least a year or two, I am pretty sure I might have asked for it when I was a kid lol

But chia seeds are better than that.  They don’t deserve to be wasted on a little piece of pottery, they are amazing for you to actually eat!  Some of the benefits include:

  • Omega-3: Chia seeds are packed with omega-3 fatty acids, the same omega-3’s as flax seeds, and fish.  Chia seeds are the most rich plant source of these “good fats” which help prevent inflammation such as heart disease and arthritis!
  • Benefits Diabetes: Chia seeds can help regulate blood sugar because they help slow down how fast our bodies convert carbohydrates into simple sugars.
  • Weight loss: Chia seeds can help block calorie absorption as well as keeping you feel fuller longer.  These seeds can absorb up to 10 times their weight in water and produce a thick gel to keep you full, They have also been shown to curb food cravings and prevent your body from storing unnecessary fats.
  • Hydration: The thick gel that is created when you hydrate a chia seed can help keep your body hydrated which is great for athletes.
  • Blood Pressure: Studies have shown that these seeds can help lower blood pressure
  • Immune System:  Chia seeds are full of vitamins and minerals to help boost your immune system, in fact when compared gram for gram they have more than 500% more calcium than milk, 200% more iron than spinach, and 100% more potassium than bananas!
  • Fiber: for a 28 gram serving Chia seeds have 11 grams of fiber, that is 42% of your daily recommended dose!
  • Easy to eat and digest: Chia seeds do not need to be ground up to get the benefits unlike flax seeds.  This makes them great to mix in with anything. Throw some in your smoothies and drinks, or on your salads, they even work as a great thickener for soups!
hydrated chia seeds

hydrated chia seeds

Chia gel

Chia gel

I love to mix them in my juices, they don’t alter the taste at all and with so many added benefits why not.  I like to hydrate the seeds before I add my juices to them as they don’t plump up as much if you just add them straight into your drink.  While I am juicing I put a tablespoon or so in my glass and put enough room temperature water to cover them, usually by the time my juice is done the seeds have hydrated and are covered in the gel, then I just pour my juice over top and stir.  It is pretty cool because they float around in my juice and don’t really sink or float to the top.  It kind of reminds me of the drink from the 90’s called Orbitz only a lot healthier.

What do you think?  Would you try them?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under tips and tricks

Leave a Reply

