Motivation : Take Two

One of the top things people always bring up to me is motivation.  I get comments all the time from people saying “I wish I had your motivation” or “where do you get your motivation?” etc.

I’ve done a post about it before (Let’s Get Motivated).  I talked about the importance of setting small goals, having a friend with you, and exchanging the word diet with life change.

Those are still all great ways to keep motivated.  When I first started this blog I mentioned that I didn’t start it until I lost 15 pounds because I am a quitter.  I read somewhere that one of the worst things to do when making a goal, or a resolution is to talk about it.  It said that when we talk about things we want to do with other people that often times the response we get when we talk about the idea is enough to satisfy us that we don’t end up following through with whatever goal we had.

I totally agree.

So what am I saying you should do?  Don’t talk to me about trying to find your motivation, stop telling other people that you are going to work out, the only person you should tell is yourself, and maybe a friend.  Don’t set yourself up with unattainable goals.  If you do and fail it will only make you less motivated.

When I started this whole life change, I originally told myself I would go to the gym 3 days a week.  Sundays, Mondays, and Tuesdays because those were my days off and I wouldn’t have to wake up early before work to do it.  That to me made this entire thing possible.  At the time I was sleeping till almost noon and going to work at 1.  I knew if I totally changed everything about my life right away I would grow to hate it and I would fail.  Once I realized that the three days a week was easy, and I didn’t hate it I added an extra day in there (before work! gasp!) Before I knew it I was waking up all by myself without an alarm clock around 8.30 am and going to the gym everyday before work.  Even stranger, enjoying it.  And you know what, I feel better than I ever did before.  Not only is it nice waking up on my own without the loud screeching alarm clock, but I also have less stress and less weight to lug around to boot.

I am also not above bribing, I bribe myself all the time.  Well, I mean reward.  yeah, reward thats it… What’s better than buying new clothes and shoes?  To me nothing…  Shopping fuels me.  The more weight I lose the more dresses I get to buy, and even better the more dresses I can fit in.  How is that for motivation.  I know a lot of people tell you not to shop for the size you want to be, but why not?  I don’t see myself quitting anytime soon so why not buy dresses that I like if I know I am going to fit in them later.  I am not saying go out and buy a size 0.  But a size or so smaller, I see no harm.  Plus I think one of the hardest things in the beginning was feeling frumpy in everything I wore.  In the beginning I didn’t want to buy new clothes until I changed sizes drastically, but it left me feeling gross and ugly.  I think by feeling good in your gym clothes, work clothes and any clothes for that matter also keeps you going.  Maybe you have a dress that looks good on with spanx right now, well keep working and eventually you won’t need the spanx, then later it might be in your sell pile.  I’m a visual person, seeing my sell pile grow is motivation, and seeing a dress i couldn’t zip all the way up zip up with no problem makes me ecstatic.


so much to sell, so little time

I guess the point of these posts are that there are plenty of things that can motivate you… the trick is YOU need to find what motivates YOU.  If you are ready to make the change you will, and it won’t be easy, but it won’t be impossible either.  If it were easy everyone would do it, and if it were impossible no one would have done it.  So lets go… find your motivation and start working towards what you always wanted, be it losing weight, getting fit, or even something totally unrelated and be one of the people that other people go to to find their motivation.


Filed under tips and tricks

5 responses to “Motivation : Take Two

  1. Lynn

    that was very good…I do feel motivated

  2. Amanda T.

    Reblogged this on and commented:
    Very inspiring post.

  3. Amanda T.

    I loved this. I sometimes get frustrated by only dropping a pound here and there but it’s like you said it’s important to start small and just stick with it. I like the idea of creating a sell pile too.

    • its totally hard. I know where you are coming from. My weight fluctuates like crazy, but I am also doing a lot of strength training. I still weigh myself from time to time, but i don’t beat myself up over it because i can see that my clothes are fitting better and that I am gaining muscle.
      It helps when you have other people cheering you on a long the way. My boyfriend is one of my biggest cheerleaders and always tells me he notices the changes, whether is he lying or not it totally helps and he knows it. Your good friends will know that and help you too.

  4. Very nice post – sometimes it can be very motivating with these kind of posts

Leave a Reply

