The Hair Stylist’s Guide to Coping With Gym Hair.

This morning when I was in the shower on my second lather of shampoo trying to get all the dry shampoo and sweat out of my hair I realized I should talk about the best ways to deal with gym hair.

Hopefully by now we all know that it is not good to wash your hair every day, but for a person that goes to the gym everyday that can be torture.  Before I started working out I would wash my hair once a week and it was awesome I could wake up late for work and my hair would still look okay.  Now that I go to the gym 6 days a week my hair gets gross!  I’ve found a few tricks that helps me get through some of the rough days and a few products that help me get by.  Now i wash my hair 2-3 times a week, but I aim to just do it on Wednesdays and Saturdays.  I work at my salon Wednesday-Saturday so this way my hair looks good when it should and the other days, well, oh well lol.  When I wash my hair I only put conditioner from the middle of my hair down this way I prevent any greesy-ness from the start.  Wednesday I obviously have clean hair so I wear it down and nice with a little bit of wave so it looks better in my ponytails later.

Thursday when I get home from the gym my hair is usually soaked, usually I can get away with just blowdrying it so that it is dry and spraying a little dry shampoo on my roots and bangs to absorb some of the oil.  One of my favorites is Redken’s Powder Refresh.  It works for me because it is pretty color-less, a lot of dry shampoos are white powder and can make dark hair look grey no matter how much you brush it out.  A great drugstore dry shampoo is one by Got2b called Rockin it – Dry Shampoo.  It smells really good, and even though it  is white powder it brushes out pretty well

By Friday after another gym day usually my hair is pretty dirty.  Sometimes I can wear it down again with a second dose of dry shampoo, usually if I can wear it down I most likely can’t wear my bangs down so a great way to camouflage oily flat bangs is with a braid.  I like to do a french braid, however to get the actual braid to lay at my hairline, I only bring in more hair from the top part of the braid instead of both sides.

I am not going to say that I always have time to do my hair, because a lot of times I don’t.  If there is one problem that I have it is lateness.  I am so bad at being anywhere on time, so usually I get to the gym, late, then get in the shower later, and then get to work late.  So on the days that I don’t have time to style it I tend to put it in a pony tail but so that I don’t look too sloppy I like to twist my bangs up so that it looks like I kind of put some effort in lol.

The best part is that dirty gym hair doesn’t really need hair spray.  Dirty hair styles better and holds styles better so use it to your advantage!  If you have time, try those curls you wanted to try, or pull it back into a sleek ponytail, or even try some of the cool braids that are popular.  Try a fishtail braid!  Here is a tutorial I did for the magazine Ready Made, which is now sadly out of print.

If you have wavy hair and want to bring out some of your waves try a sea salt spray, not only will it freshen up your hair with a nice scent but it will also take down any frizz and help enhance your texture.  I really like Redken’s Nature’s rescue Sea Spray.  I have a Brazilian Blowout so I don’t really have wavy hair anymore, but I still use this because it smells really good and the scent lasts! I also like to use it on my extensions.  I like my extensions to have a messy wave to them so I usually curl them and then brush it out then I spray this salt spray on it to relax the curl a bit more and bring out some of the texture.  The Redken spray is moisturizing, so if you have fine or oily hair this might weigh it down.  If you want to control the amount of salt and moisture make your own salt spray!  Its so easy!!

Just get a spray bottle, fill it with water [distilled or purified is best so that the mineral content is low, the minerals can leave a build up on your hair] Then add about a tablespoon of fine ground sea salt per 8oz of water, you can add more if you want more texture.  Just spraying salt water on your hair can be super drying, even for the oily-est of hair so add a teaspoon of olive oil, coconut oil or even better – argan oil!  Just shake the bottle and you are good to go, but you don’t have to stop there.  You can have fun with essential oils and make your spray whatever scent you like!  Play with the ingredients to find your perfect mix, and store it in the fridge to keep it fresh if you are making a big batch.

2 Comments

Filed under tips and tricks

2 responses to “The Hair Stylist’s Guide to Coping With Gym Hair.

  1. larissa

    These are great tips! i have such a hard time not washing my hair everyday Its so fine and thin and gets so oily so quickly. I get so self conscious about it!

  2. After being the person who washes her hair everyday for at least 20 years I have been TRYING to go every other day in the hopes that it makes my hair less greasy (I hear tell it does that) and makes my crazy coloring last longer…. (Damn Flame red chunks) I’m on week 2 and I keep referring back to your hair blogs to figure out what to do with it…. It’s keeping me creative at least…..

Leave a Reply

