My New Obsession with my Blender

Since I started this whole weight loss thing my breakfast everyday has been a packet of oatmeal before I head to the gym.  Then summer happened and oatmeal just does not sound as good as it did in February.  It is just way too hot for oatmeal, its really way too hot for almost anything.  [ I HATE summer!!]

Recently I got a new blender, I had posted on facebook asking for recommendations and it was pretty much split between the Vitamix (which yeah I know its amazing, but expensive) and the Ninja.  Being that there is almost a $300 difference in price between the two and I really didn’t think that i was going to use it that often I went with the Ninja Pulse.

Ninja Pulse

It works pretty similar to the Magic Bullet you press it down to make it work, but this one has so many more attachments and even has a big pitcher so it has way more options.  It is listed on the Ninja Pulse website that it retails for $169 but I bought mine on Amazon for only $99 (it was even prime! so I got it with free two day shipping!).  I would link the deal but it seems to be gone.  My package also came with 4 of the single serve cups and lids instead of 2 like the photo, a lid with holes in it I guess for grated parmesean and stuff, and a really nicely put together recipe book.

Now that I have this, every morning I make a smoothie with a Vega One nutritional shake powder.  I have all three flavors, chocolate, vanilla chai, and berry but I haven’t tried the berry yet, berry flavored stuff kinda scares me a little.

yum!

If you haven’t read earlier entries in my blog Vega is a cool company.  All their products are vegan, gluten free, dairy free, and soy free.  Which is good for me, my body could never handle whey protein it always made me sick, and most soy protein powders were chalky and tasted horrible, plus I am trying to avoid soy anyway.

The Vega One is not a straight protein shake that you would drink after the gym, they make a version called Vega Sport Protein that has more protein for that.  But the Vega One is packed with vitamins and minerals to give you energy, help your metabolism, supports your immune system, and even has probiotics in it to help your intestinal flora.  It has 15 grams of protein, 6 grams of fiber, 1.5 grams of Omega-3, has as many antioxidants as 2.7 cups of blueberries, and contains enough greens to be equivilent to 3 servings of vegetables, so all in all its a pretty good thing.  It is also lightly sweetened with stevia instead of sugar, so it is lower in calories and has a low glycemic index.

For me it is a little too lightly sweetened, I have a bit of a sweet tooth so if I am just mixing it by itself I add unsweetened Vanilla Almond Breeze and just a teeny bit of agave nectar.  If I make it in my blender I go all out and add fresh ground peanut butter, or frozen fruit depending on the flavor.

Chocolate Vega One with frozen cherries, unsweeted Almond Breeze and some ice

Vanilla Chai Vega One with frozen blueberries and peaches

I actually think in general I like having the shake for breakfast better than oatmeal, it keeps me fuller longer, and having the probiotics in it are good for me since I can’t even get down a spoonful of yogurt without gagging lol.  So this might even stay my breakfast of choice even in the winter hehe.

1 Comment

Filed under daily

One response to “My New Obsession with my Blender

  1. I like your blog – your writing made explaining your rationale for which blender you chose is soothing reading. Good work. am going to go make myself a smoothie now.

Leave a Reply

