It Begins…

I have decided that now that I am coming up on my 15 pound loss I would start doing everything I can to help my reach my goals.  You might ask why I didn’t do this from the beginning….

One answer, I’m a quiter

I know this about me. If I don’t love it, I won’t do it, so why would I spend a ton of money on something I might quit.  I did it with my clarinet, field hockey, skateboarding, college and probably a lot of other things that my parents would love to remind me of.   So I gave myself a mini-goal.  Get through the first 15 pounds, see if I stick with it then start with all the supplements and and making actual goals.

So here I am, 14 pounds lighter as of March 3rd, and with a kitchen full of different black jugs of Vega products for every time of the day and every part of my workout.

There are certain things I just can’t eat.  Like you will never see me down a protein shake of just water (or almond milk) and protein powder.  I never was a fan of milk ever, even as a kid I convinced my school to give me apple juice instead of the mandatory little carton of milk.  If yogurt tasted like pudding I would love it, but instead it tastes like tangy (but not good tangy) spoiled I don’t even know what.  You will also never catch me eating meat.  And this is where I struggle.  Every day the app I use on my iphone called MyFitnessPal adds more and more protein to my daily needs, and I am having a harder and harder time trying to get anywhere near my goals.  So I have set out to fix that.

I have to hand it to my roommate Lydia, she has made me some pretty good protein smoothies that I have enjoyed.  The problem is, Lydia’s only job isn’t to make me smoothies when I need them so I need to learn to make them too hehe.

Yesterday was my first day trying out my Vega supply.   So I started by mixing up a glass of the Pre-Workout Energizer.  I have to admit, at first glance I didn’t know how I was going to muster up the strength to even drink it, the color was this ugly yellow-green and it looked grainy.  It definetly didn’t look as refreshing as the lemon-lime flavoring would suggest.  Finally I was able to kick it back and I realized it honestly wasn’t bad at all, in fact it was kinda good.  But I think there is a reason I was given a blue Vega Shaker cup, I would have never noticed the color if I had used it.

yum?

After I downed the drink my boyfriend (Jake) and I walked to the gym and I started my workout.   First thing I noticed was that I felt like I was on a crazy sugar high, or like I drank a giant energy drink, maybe 2.  Which I have to be honest, I didn’t really like and it made me a little nervous.  I guess I should have thought about the fact that I have pretty much zero caffeine in my diet, so I should have started with a half a dose and worked my way up.  Now I know.

I did run faster than I have run since I started working out, and yes I did feel the increased energy and endurance, but it was a little too much for me too soon.  I did a solid 45 minutes on the elliptical starting at a level 8 and working my way to level 14 staying between 6.5mph and going past 8mph the entire time.  Then I did 20 minutes on the treadmill at maximum elevation going 3.5mph and I could have kept going.  In fact I did, I talked at a mile a minute and couldn’t calm down for a long time after that.  Jake told me not to take the Recovery Accelerator since I was still bouncing off the walls and by this time it was past 8pm.  I guess I will leave that for another day.

I think that how I felt was a combination of not being used to supplements like this and the fact that we started our workout later than usual.  Even though this product doesn’t contain added caffeine if has yerba mate, kombucha, green tea, and ginseng so it definetly packs a punch especially for me.   I liked that it made me work out harder than usual, but it was a little too much for the first time.  I am going to stick to a half dose of each until I feel like I am not noticing the effects and then move up to a full dose.  We will see what happens the next few days I guess.

2 Comments

Filed under daily

2 responses to “It Begins…

  1. natalie b

    I’m so pleased I came across this blog in a random page-hopping-sort-of-way. I’m a quitter too, so I absolutely know where you’re coming from. Except for that one time that I decided enough was enough + being fit + healthy was the ONLY thing in my life I couldn’t quit on. So I didn’t let myself give up … and I’m still here a few years later, a small-person lighter + a million times fitter !

    Good luck in the rest of your journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

